OnlineYellowPages.com (Yellow Pages Directories) Scam

by Dave Naffziger on December 22, 2009 at 10:37 am

I hate crap like this. The term “Yellow Pages” is a generic, untrademarkable term as is the familiar image of fingers walking (see: wikipedia entry). So of course, it is used by tons of companies to dupe consumers (small businesses).

We regularly receive a calls from scam directories asking to ‘verify our information’. We also commonly receive letters like the one shown below. I found this one particularly annoying:
CCI12082009_00000sm

So, if you mistakenly fill out their form and mail it back, you get stuck with a $600 annual bill. If you fill out the sections marked “free”, you get charged an additional $170 a year (after the first year). The terms you are subscribing to are on the back:

CCI12082009_00001sm

And of course, after getting tricked into signing up for a paid listing on OnlineYellowPages.com, businesses certainly can’t expect value from the service. Compete shows monthly traffic of only 3K to 5K users per month. That equates to an Alexa ranking of roughly 800,000. Even better, over 50% of the traffic is from India:

Of course, the BBB shows an A+ rating. (but we know how worthless those ratings are).

For future searchers, the return address and fax are:
Yellow Pages Directories
PO Box 111580
Carrollton, TX 75011-9895
Fax: 800 466 0607

  • Guest

    Got the same scam. Read the terms and shredded the document. IF YOU DIDN'T ORDER IT, READ IT FIRST!

  • T.L.

    I am guilty of falling to this scam, is there anyone that know what to do next? I got calls from them right after I sent it back in the mail, asking for money for the ad. I changed the info because we moved the business, but never because we wanted to pay for advertising with them. I get way more return on internet advertising rather than a book everyone throws away. Now I have been received these letters from their collection lawyers, pretty much I will be sued for the amount plus court and attorney fees if I do not pay the invoice. This is so unfair and very misleading specially since we have no business debt, we pay our vendors on time, but these people are complete scammers, using a 3rd party attorney to get us.

  • steve

    I just fell for this as well. Now they have a company called the Law Offices Of W.C. French calling me. They too appear to be a scam as they are a collection agency posing as a law office.

  • MLR

    I just recieved the same notice above and thought I would search it out online. What got me on the one that came to our office is It is our address, but the name of a Hosptial that hasnt been in buissness for 10+yrs with our Dr.'s name above that. I am so glad I looked this up. The sample of the notice above was great to refer to. Its just like what I got in the mail today. ty

  • http://www.honestgoldguyofsarasota.com/ Darrrylvk

    yes,
    i just got this notice also. Since it was compiled from my business registration, it was mailed to my home mailing address. It just looked too good to be true. Thanks for taking the time to post this info.

    Darryl

  • Moihoi300

    I have a same situation here also. I called the yellow page directories about my fee and they couldn’t find my business account so I called Law Offices of W.C. French.  He said his name is John Wein and he was keep asking me for the credit card number or check number so I thought it was suspicious. I asked him which yellow page directories is advertising our company and he said he doesn’t know. So I asked him if he can send me the document about that yellow page and he sends me a website (OnLineYellowpages.com). Sender’s name was John Nguyen! My husband call “law office” and asked their address and the “secretary” said they don’t have one!! This is a total scam!! Don’t do anything!!

  • BGC

    Could you tell me whether this has affected your credit rating at all?  We have had the same experience with this company. Has anyone seen this listed on their credit report?

  • Bebedoc

    Oh, this is indeed most frustrating!  I am getting invoices and late notices for a service that I didn’t intend to order. How do I get out of this? 

  • another

    I have the same situation with the Law Offices of W. C. French and even spoke with John Nguyen.  Has anything else happened since you wrote this?

  • rwbdds

    I’m in the same position, very concerned about my credit rating also since my business isn’t even profitable yet! Help!

  • Rdgasal

    I got suckered in by a free month offer( and then I could cancel).  I can’t find a place to cancel and they are billing my credit card. Help!!

  • Scottman0

    It is a total scam and I fell for it. They sent it to new companies only. They get you to think that you’ll be in he yellow pages and you’re not. I wrote them a check and cancelled the service. Big scam.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 2.5 License. | Dave Naffziger’s Blog | Dave & Iva Naffziger